Teddy Charles & Walter Wolff Trio - LIVE

€ 18.95

Vibraphone legend Teddy Charles performed with the Walter Wolff Trio at the Bimhuis in The Netherlands on November 7th 2008. In his own words he experienced: ‘Some of the finest and most challenging moments in my lengthy career’.

This is one of the great wonders of Jazz: three young musicians together with a vibraphonist who for over six decades has played his own role in the development of Jazz. It hits off immediately, is both daring and subtle. They sound as if they've shared the stage for years: Teddy Charles (1928) and the trio of Finnish piano player Walter Wolff (1981).

Charles went through everything in Jazz from swing to bop, to ‘third stream’, to playing with Charles Mingus. His solo phrasing is original, compare to none and never clichéd, like a youngster, he's still discovering things. Pianist Wolff answers beautifully, always tasteful, and leaves little wonder that he is considered a rising talent on his instrument (winner Leidse Jazz Award). Italian bassist Francesco Angiuli and Danish drummer Andreas Fryland are the ideal partners in this inspiring adventure. The Wolff and Charles duet in Haggarts' ‘What’s new’ is a piece of pure beauty. All eight tracks were remarkably well recorded ‘LIVE’ in Amsterdam at the Bimhuis. 

For additional information, please visit:

Title DurationSample
1Nostalgia For Mingus 10.10Listen
2Dances With Bulls07.04Listen
3What Is This Thing Called Love10.26
5What’s New05.08Listen
6All The Things You Are09.50
7I Hardly Think About You 08.33Listen
8A Night In Tunisia13.06Listen

Artist links from left to right:
Francesco Angiuli
Walter Wolff
Teddy Charles
Andreas Fryland


Press downloads:
Download press info sheet (Dutch)
Download press info sheet (English)
Download high res. CD cover

€ 17,50

Also available as download on iTunes

Line up:
Teddy Charles - Vibes
Walter Wolff - Piano
Francesco Angiuli - Double Bass
Andreas Fryland - Drums

Produced by O.A.P. Records
Producer & Engineer: Barry Olthof
Assistant Engineers: Micha de Kanter, Bastiaan Kuijt, Jurre Wieman, Philip ten Brink
PA Sound: Onno Prillwitz
Liner Notes: Harold Danko, Cees Mentink
Graphic Design: Monomonnik
Photography: Hans Speekenbrink
Live recording made by Olthof Audio Productions at The BIMhuis, Amsterdam, The Netherlands, 7 November 2008.
Mixed and mastered at O.A.P. Studio, The Hague, The Netherlands

Release date: 01 December 2009
Cat. Nr: OAPR904
EAN-code: 978-90-78686-12-5  
? & ? O.A.P. Records 2009
All rights reserved.