Yvonne Smeets - Under a Cloud

€ 18.95

Jazz-singer, composer ánd lyricist. All these qualifications are true for versatile and multi-talented Yvonne Smeets in her debut CD ‘Under a cloud’. This rich scope of talents results in four compositions of her own in quite varied musical colours: from the grooving title song to the philosophical ‘Circle’. That she aims high is clear from her choice of six compositions by jazzmasters Dave Holland, Kenny Wheeler and Wayne Shorter – from the latter his ‘Black Nile’, ‘Adam’s apple’ and ‘Iris’- all sung with her own, striking lyrics. Moreover she presents two songs by Kate Bush and three Brazilian songs (a.o. Jobim).

Yvonne Smeets’ music is always pure, warm en never obvious. It can be the wit and finesse of the musical story she tells, the spirited improvisations she scats along, or the relaxed grooves. The singer is supported by the subtly swinging and open sounding trio of guitarist Jens Larsen, bassplayer Maciej Domaradzki and drummer Emanuel Donadelli. For three songs she chose as sole accompaniment the piano of Tilmar Junius. With a beautiful outcome that is both delicate and intriguing. The remarkable debut of a singer who makes choices both attractive and daring and already deserves her very own place in jazz.

For more information, please visit:

Title DurationSample
1Under a Cloud4'47Listen
3Child of tomorrow (Nicolette)4'23Listen
4Looking Up5'34
6On the Line4'19
7Of smiles remembered (Kind Folk)4'31
9Black Nile4'11Listen
10Black and White portrayal3'25Listen
11Adam's apple4'22


In the warm room



Madeira de Sangue     


15Retrato en branco e preto3.26

Artists links:
Yvonne Smeets
Jens Larsen
Maciej Domaradzki
Emanuel Donadelli
Tilmar Junius


€ 17,50

Also available as download on iTunes

Line up:
Yvonne Smeets - Vocals
Jens Larsen - Guitar
Maciej Domaradzki - Double Bass
Emanuel Donadelli - Drums & Percussion
Special guest:
Tilmar Junius - Piano (tracks 5, 10 & 15)

Produced by O.A.P. Records
Producer & Engineer: Barry Olthof
Graphic Design: Monomonnik
Photography: Wiep van Apeldoorn
Liner Notes: Soesja Citroen
Recordings made by Olthof Audio Productions at The Fieldwork Studio, Schoten, Belgium.
Mixed and mastered at O.A.P. Studio, The Hague, The Netherlands

Release date: 30 March 2009
Cat. Nr: OAPR901
EAN-code: 978-90-78686-09-5
? & ? O.A.P. Records 2009
All rights reserved.