European Union Quartet - The Dark Peak

€ 18.95

Atmosphere and emotions are key words for the European Union Quartet and its CD ‘The dark peak’. A quartet that is really European with its combination of a Dutch, a German, a Slovak and an English jazzmusician.
The title piece (by bassplayer Gavin Barras) has a nearly picturesque quality: one hears a landscape growing in the sheer suggestive lines of sax and guitar. Adventurous music making is what these nine, own compositions have in common. It can be in subtle musings, with a dreamlike feel, like in the beautiful soundscape of ‘House by the lake’. Or in the way the quartet grows together towards a structure in ‘Reddish Vale’. All four instruments are equally important in their improvisations and strikingly together in emotionality.
Saxplayer Iman Spaargarens composition ‘Zieleroersel’ is all about emotions and it is a joy to hear how suggestive and controlled the band explores form and sound. The European Union Quartet plays a modern jazz that looks for the inside of things. With great emotional and melodic qualities.

Here’s a chance to hear tracks from the album in a special promotional video.
click here to see the video

For more information go to:

1Reddish Vale 6'28Listen
2Schmeissendorf 7          5'28Listen
3Na de Regen 5'05Listen
4House by the Lake 4'02
5Sixth Sence  4'52Listen
6Zieleroersel 7'40Listen
7Dear Mr. Scofield 4'19
8The Dark Prelude 3'01
9The Dark Peak 5'47Listen

Track 1, 3, 4 and 6 composed by Iman Spaargaren

Track 2, 5 and 7 composed by Ulrich Elbracht

Track 8 and 9 composed by Gavin Barras


Artists link (from left to right):
Ulrich Elbracht
Iman Spaargaren
Gavin Barras
Marek Dorcik

€ 17,50

Also available as download on iTunes

Line up:
Iman Spaargaren - Saxophones & Bass Clarinet
Ulrich Elbracht - Guitar
Gavin Barras – Double Bass
Marek Dorcik- Drums

Produced by O.A.P. Records
Producer & Engineer: Barry Olthof
Graphic Design: Monomonnik
Photography: Ron Beenen
Recordings made by Olthof Audio Productions at The Wedgeview Studio, Woerdense Verlaat, The Netherlands
Mixed and mastered at O.A.P. Studio, The Hague, The Netherlands

Release date: 24 oktober 2011
Cat. Nr: OAPR1101
EAN-code: 8714835087380
Distribution Bertus order Nr: K63496 
All rights reserved.