Laurence Fish Quintet - Sen's Fortress

€ 18.95

It strikes you right-away in the debut cd of jazzpianist Laurence Fish and his quintet that it evades trends, fashions or influences from too often visited corners of the musical universe. This is jazz, mainstream jazz, supported by the simple feeling of creating beauty, to fascinate and emote. Through ‘music pure’. Moreover Fish adds five, very diverse compositions of his own that are quite something. From the strong title-piece with its appetising, jumpy melodyline to the ballads ‘Dust’ and ‘Mariposa’. The former with a rich coloring by the three horns (tenor-, altosax and trumpet), whereas guesttrompetist Nanouck Brassers (now on flügelhorn) transcends the latter into one long dreamline. Fish’choice of standards speaks volumes: Johnny Mandels ‘Close enough for love’, Mercer Ellingtons ‘Things ain’t what they used to be’, Jobims ‘Ligia’. Strong character pieces, with insight and feeling supported by the young saxplayers Casper van Wijk and Tom van der Zaal, bassplayer Matheus Nicolaiewsky. And by ‘old masterhand’ Eric Ineke who uses both his hard drive and his subtle brushes for the dots, points and exclamation marks. Laurence Fish’s trio-version of Victor Youngs ‘Ghost of a chance’ says all about his musical attitude: Lovingly, with the guts to reveal solid beauty. “A half way point, yet a beginning”, Fish characterises his position in his endearing accompanying text. It makes you curious to hear his follow up.

Click here to see the promotional video.

For more information, please visit: 

Artists link: (from left to right):
Laurence Fish - Piano
Tom van der Zaal - Alto Sax
Matheus Nicolaiewsky - Double Bass
Caspar van Wijk - Tenor Sax
Eric Ineke - Drums

Title DurationSoundfragment
1Things Ain't What They Used To Be6'11Sample
3Second Time Lucky 6'02Sample
5Close Enough for Love 3'35Sample
6Ghost of a Chance 4'25Sample
7Sen's Fortress 4'48Sample
8Lígia 5'11Sample
9Eshu's Hat5'32Sample
11Love is a Many-Splendored Thing 5'23Sample

Press downloads:
Download high res. CD cover
Download press picture Laurence Fish

Flophouse magazine
Jazz Profiles

€ 17,50

Also available as download on iTunes:

Laurence Fish - Piano
Matheus Nicolaiewsky - Double Bass
Eric Ineke - Drums
Caspar van Wijk - Tenor Sax
Tom van der Zaal - Alto Sax

Produced by O.A.P. Records
Producer & Engineer: Barry Olthof
Recordings made by Olthof Audio Productions 
at The O.A.P. Studio, The Hague, 
The Netherlands, 18 & 20 December 2016.
Mixed and mastered at O.A.P. Studio, The Hague, The Netherlands, Januari 2017.
Photography: Lisa Hinder, Jo-Anne Maduro, Peter Boerman
Graphic design: O.A.P. Graphics

Release date: 14 May 2017
Catalog Nr: OAPR1702
EAN-code: 8714835119678
Distributie Bertus order Nr.: S94816
Copyright O.A.P. Records 2017
All rights reserved.